top of page

Work ethic, do you have it?

I don't seem to but I did, before, before.... I don't know what.

Now I find myself on a journey to work out what work ethic is? Are you born with it? Can you lose it? Can you learn it? HELP!

Google says....

work ethic

noun

  1. the principle that hard work is intrinsically virtuous or worthy of reward.

Interesting, my definition is you work your butt no matter what, come rain or shine. As I said I seem to have lost my work ethic, can't kind find her anywhere she left me a few years ago and no matter where I look it doesn't seem like she is coming back. I don't think she wants to be my friend anymore and likes to make me look bad in front of my husband.

16 year old me had a lot of work ethic, so why doesn't 30 year old me have it? You would think it would have grown not disappeared!

At 16 I had recently had a stay in a mental health facility (not afraid to talk about mental health here people, we are all a little bit crazy at times), moved towns, far away from the bullies that had plagued the last 4 years of my life, I had chronic health problems, repeatedly going to hospital just to be told their was nothing wrong (Oh Hello Endo), and I was also studying through the correspondence school. Even with all that on I worked hard, and every job I did I wanted to be the best that I could be and take over the company if possible. I had my own business and another job on the side. If you asked me I would tell you "I am going to be a millionaire at 25"

At 19 I broke up with my then boyfriend and packed my bags and headed for the commune life in Israel, and what a good life it was. 6 months of staying out way too late, lots of clubs and new friends took its toll on my fragile mind and it was time to go home, my work ethic seemed to have taken a little vacation at this time too.

At 20 after dealing with the aftermath of the heavy nights and coming back down to earth with a bit of a bump, I found a job at a pub. It was called "The Cock Inn" haha lets all laugh now.

When I google it, the actual pub came up haha. I worked right there.

Standard me, I threw myself in hard, I did every job going, anything they asked and I took every shift offered. BOOM work ethic, nice to see you my old friend, please come back to me before husband leaves me!

One night I served a couple that were clearly 'not' a couple if you know what I mean. But anyway, they chatted to me and asked me "Where do you see yourself in 5 years?"

I don't know, I replied, but I see myself as successful wherever I am.

I obviously said the right thing, with that I was given a business card and they took my details. They told me they worked for a plumbing merchants and would love to help me get a job.

Within a few weeks I was working for PTS, as head of administration not that I had ever done any admin work in my life but hey ho. A new thing to sink my teeth in to. I sunk my teeth in hard for 6 months I was early and stayed late nearly every night but then I was so on top of the job that I got bored, I couldn't see any progression. I can almost hear husbands voice... " dabbler, dabbler, dabbler" To be honest I can't even remember if I am using the right word haha. Sorry husband.

After being at PTS a few years the inner performer was busting to get out and entertain the world, so I auditioned at Rodger Dodger the Fish also known as RDF.

With that Pixie was born.....

They didn't want me though unfortunately, I had too many tattoos. But the bug had hold of me so I packed my back and dragged sister no 1 and headed to the bright lights of a very famous gentlemens club in London. Stringfellows!

I swear Peter Stringfellow things he is Britons version of Hugh Hefner. They did give me a job and I loved it. I worked Monday to Friday at PTS and 3 nights a week in London. WORK ETHIC.

For the next 7 years that followed my work ethic would come and go. I would have months where I would work 7-14 nights in a row. I would have jobs on the side even though I didn't "need" the money. I got to travel and see some of the world and I loved my job. Although the work ethic would come and go I always worked and always knew I had to.

2 years ago I met husband and fell in love. I met the man I was going to spend the rest of my life with and in the process, I lost my work ethic and it has not returned.

Has anyone got any suggestions?????????

bottom of page